Milltown to DowntownBackground textureGo to home pageFrançais
Navigation linksSpacer Image
Good Times
Earning a Living
Mind and Spirit
Lure of the New
Building a City
Spacer Image
Image Search
Telling Our Story
Image use and Copyright Information
Spacer Image
Spacer Image Featured in this exhibition are photographs from the following permanent collections of
The Exploration Place.
Spacer Image
BackgroundSpacer ImageThe Exploration Place
Spacer ImageSpacer Image
The Collections
Spacer Image

Wally West was a professional photographer in Prince George, B.C. from 1947 until 1991. He was hired to document events people thought were important, from buildings to banquets, boxing matches to birthday parties. As a chronicler of contemporary history, he captured the structure of everyday life. In 1993 the City of Prince George purchased Mr. West’s collection of negatives and prints, and donated them to The Exploration Place to preserve for the community.

The Prince George Citizen has been the newspaper of record in Prince George since 1916. The Citizen donated a collection of photographic negatives—that range from 1958 to 1968—to The Exploration Place.

Alex Moldowan owned a sawmill in the Prince George area from about 1948 to 1964. He and his wife donated a collection of photos—assembled by M. C. MacRae—to the Fraser-Fort George Regional Museum. This valuable repository of images provides a unique view of logging in an era of small sawmills.

Edward "Ted" Williams was born in Prince George in 1915 and died in 1995. In addition to his work with the Boy Scouts for more than 50 years, Mr. Williams was an avid amateur historian. Starting in 1958, he was involved with museum projects that preserved the history of the area. As director of the Fraser-Fort George Regional Museum, he was instrumental in rebuilding the museum and its collection after a disastrous fire in 1975. Mr. Williams assembled a collection of unique photographs that chart the development of Prince George.

Joe Stabiki was a long-time resident of Prince George and an amateur photographer. His legacy is an important collection of photos taken from 1910 to the 1950s.

Milltown to Downtown: Prince George 1947-1972   |  Project Credits   |   Contact
©2002 The Exploration Place at the Fraser Fort-George Regional Museum